

Distr.: General 13 February 2008

Original: English

Peacebuilding Commission Second session

Membership of the Peacebuilding Commission

Organizational Committee

(31 members)

Members	Term expires
Angola	June 2008 ^a
Bangladesh	June 2008 ^b
Belgium	December 2008 ^c
Brazil	June 2008 ^a
Burundi	June 2008 ^d
Chile	June 2008 ^d
China	e
Czech Republic	June 2008 ^a
Egypt	June 2008 ^d
El Salvador (Vice-Chairperson)	June 2008 ^d
Fiji	June 2008 ^d
France	e
Georgia	June 2009 ^d
Germany	June 2008 ^f
Ghana (Vice-Chairperson)	June 2008 ^b
Guinea-Bissau	June 2008 ^a



Members	Term expires
India	June 2008 ^b
Indonesia	June 2008 ^a
Italy	June 2008 ^f
Jamaica	June 2009 ^d
Japan (Chairperson)	June 2008 ^f
Luxembourg	June 2008 ^a
Netherlands	June 2008 ^f
Nigeria	June 2008 ^b
Norway	June 2008 ^f
Pakistan	June 2008 ^b
Russian Federation	e
South Africa	December 2008 ^c
Sri Lanka	June 2008 ^a
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland	e
United States of America	e
Former members	Term
Belgium ^a	June-December 2006
Croatia ^d	June 2006-June 2007
Denmark ^c	June 2006-December 2006
Panama ^c	January 2007-December 2007
Poland ^a	June 2006-December 2006
United Republic of Tanzania ^a	June 2006-December 2006

^a In accordance with para. 4 (b) of General Assembly resolution 60/180 and Security Council resolution 1645 (2005).

^b In accordance with para. 4 (d) of General Assembly resolution 60/180 and Security Council resolution 1645 (2005).

^c In accordance with para. 4 (a) of General Assembly resolution 60/180 and Security Council resolution 1645 (2005).

^d In accordance with para. 4 (e) of General Assembly resolution 60/180 and Security Council resolution 1645 (2005).

^e In accordance with Security Council resolution 1646 (2005), para. 1.

^f In accordance with para. 4 (c) of General Assembly resolution 60/180 and Security Council resolution 1645 (2005).

Country-specific configurations Members^g and participants

Burundi configuration

(Chair: Norway)

Canada Croatia Democratic Republic of the Congo Denmark Kenya Nepal Rwanda Uganda United Republic of Tanzania

Executive Representative of the Secretary-General Special Representative of the Secretary-General for the Great Lakes region

African Development Bank African Union East African Economic Community Economic Commission for Africa Economic Community of Central African States International Organization of la Francophonie Inter-Parliamentary Union

Sierra Leone configuration

(Chair: the Netherlands)

Guinea Ireland Liberia Sierra Leone Sweden

Executive Representative of the Secretary-General Special Representative of the Secretary-General for West Africa

African Development Bank African Union Central Bank of West African States Economic Commission for Africa Economic Community of West African States Mano River Union

^g In addition to the 31 members of the Organizational Committee.

Guinea-Bissau configuration

(Chair: Brazil)

Burkina Faso Cape Verde Gambia Guinea Mexico Mozambique Niger Sao Tome and Principe Senegal Spain Portugal Timor-Leste

Representative of the Secretary-General United Nations Development Programme United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime

African Development Bank African Union Community of Portuguese-speaking Countries Economic Community of West African States International Organization of la Francophonie Union économique et monétaire ouest africaine

Participants in all meetings of the Peacebuilding Commission in accordance with paragraph 9 of General Assembly resolution 60/180 and Security Council resolution 1645 (2005)^h

European Community International Monetary Fund Organization of the Islamic Conference World Bank

^h On 16 May 2007 the Organizational Committee decided to invite the four entities listed above to participate in all meetings of the Peacebuilding Commission, in accordance with paragraph 9 of General Assembly resolution 60/180 and Security Council resolution 1645 (2005).